Horse of the Year Show International Wild Card Qualifier Inc the British Showjumping Business Partnership International Stairway Final


After an incredible array of talent over the six days of the British Showjumping National Championships, it came down to the nail-biting final leg of the HOYS International Wild Card Series which incorporated the British Showjumping Business Partnership International Stairway Final. The course was up to height and proved difficult for the 49 competitors who entered the class. There were just four riders clear after the first round; James Smith with Twix De La Roque, Cressy Neads with Chintan, Nigel Coupe with Golvers Hill and Annabel Shields with Wet Wet Wet. Graham Lovegrove was fastest of the 4 faulters with Cento Love so was invited into the jump off over the 1.50m course.

The atmosphere was tense and every second counted. Saving the best until last, Annabel Shields had an incredibly fast round finishing clear in a time of 44.12 seconds to take the British Showjumping National Champion title 2017 and a Wild Card for HOYS. This meant that James Smith, who had an unfortunate refusal finishing on 4 faults placing second to Annabel, therefore took the HOYS Wild Card League and an invite to HOYS.

The International Stairway League winner, and booking her place at Horse of the Year Show, was Helen Tredwell. And the winner of the new Under 25 HOYS Wild Card was Pippa Allen.


For further information on the British Showjumping National Championships 2017 please contact or call 02476 858 205. Website:

NOTE: Please credit all images to: 1st Class Images