Robert Smith crowned British Showjumping National Champion

Sunday 14th August 2016

Robert Smith crowned British Showjumping National Champion

In the penultimate class of the day in Championship Arena 1, the British Showjumping Business Partnership International Stairway League Final came to a spectacular conclusion as Robert Smith with Cimano E soared to victory to be crowned the British Showjumping National Champion 2016.

The last phase of the hotly contested Horse of the Year Show Wild Card Series took place seeing 44 riders stepping forward to tackle the imposing course in a bid to claim the coveted title. The tension was high as the competition started in reverse order from the previous combined results of the two legs, both of which were also hosted at the British Showjumping National Championships over the weekend.

The course was challenging and put both horses and riders to the test with only 12 riders managing to jump clear. Robert Smith, winner of leg one on Friday, was last to go riding the bold nine year old gelding, Cimano E. With bated breath the audience watched as the pair landed from the last fence and turned to see the clock read 42.07, just ahead of the current leader Chloe Winchester with Avoca Valkyrie who had done it in 42.92 seconds. There were cheers all round when the top 10 riders came in to the arena for the prize giving and Robert Smith was crowned the National Champion 2016.


Robert has owned Cimano E since a four year old and he is now nine and has amazing scope; “It was a very tough jump off and was definitely built up to maximum height with the aim of really making the horses work for it. The horse has a nice even pace though and as he has matured he is showing his versatility.”


National Champion was not the only title on offer during this class as the International Stairway League winner was decided along with the HOYS Wild Card series winner. It was Helen Treadwell on Larksong who claimed the International Stairway League title and Joe Clayton who won the HOYS Wild Card Series.


All three riders are now invited to enter three horses for the International Competitions, plus one for the Puissance, at Horse of the Year Show on the 5th – 9th October, taking place at Birmingham’s NEC.



1st Robert Smith and Cimano E

2nd Chloe Winchester and Avoca Valkyrie

3rd Nigel Coupe and Jubilee

4th Chelsea Skelton and Caramba

5th Joe Clayton and Con Man JX

6th Tim Stockdale and Erasmus VD Heffinck

7th Emma Slater and Art D’Usance

8th Helen Tredwell and Larksong

9th Chloe Winchester and Synique

10th Tim Davies and Havanna De Cavron


For further information please contact or call 02476 858205 or go to

Image caption: Robert Smith, British Showjumping National Champion 2016

Image credit: 1st Class Images